What’s my role in this?

I’ve been reading a lot of books just recently. I read Seth Godin’s book, All Marketers Are Liars, and found it both entertaining and informative. Seth is irreverent, funny and delivers a good message. Fun read. I recommend Seth’s book highly.

During my search for a copy of Seth’s book through my local library system, I found another intriguing title mentioned and decided to ‘check it out’ to find out what it was all about; Bruce Lipton’s book, The Biology of Belief.

If you are at all interested in what motivates you (or other people) and why we function (as a species) the way we do, this book will fill you in. It does have some science in it but Lipton has a way of explaining things so even those who flunked science can grasp and understand his very plausible concepts. Good read. Can barely put it down!

One of my friends chided me with, ‘You and all your books!’ recently. I had to smile when she said this.

She’s vivacious, gregarious and a simple delight to be with but not much into books just now. You see, she just graduated from college with her bachelor’s degree in mass communications. Creative, thoughtful, energetic and ambitious to be making films and connecting with people, she just has no time currently to spend on ‘books’! Right now, it’s all about doing rather than being.

I am blessed to have her energy and enthusiasm in my life. She makes me smile when I look at her and look back at my life. She has a fire in her belly because she’s out to build a career and make her contributions to the world.

I, on the other hand, have been making contributions for years. Mentoring is more important to me than blazing new trails. Acting as a human sign post seems and feels more appropriate to me. Being. Just being.

Yes, there are still things for me to do and active contributions for me to make, but my role has changed. Part of that transition involves searching out what others are saying and doing. Then sharing the best of what I find with others who are still blazing trails and leading the way.

My heart tells me these energetic new leaders still need guidance, help and mentoring so they will stay true to course in their quest for a better world. God bless the child who is on a quest!

Leave a Reply

